You May Say I’m a Dreamer

So let’s talk about dreams.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.
Jeremiah 29:11
Somewhere in my life between playing house and becoming a teenager I became a dreamer. I guess it probably actually happened while I was playing house, but that part isn’t important. I developed these dreams of opening my own business, first a bakery, then a candy shoppe, then a few other things, which has now landed me on: an Art store. For higher quality supplies that you can’t purchase where I live.
dreamer 1
Goal – Own an Art store 
A community and welcoming place as well as a store.
IMG_8041 copy
Sub-Goal – Attached cafe/bakery 
(most likely owned by my best friend! Check out her blog too: Poetically Peachy!)
IMG_8047 copy
GIANT-sub-goal – use all of this for His glory
Support missions and use what The Lord gives me for His glory!
You know that God plans all of these things out for a time and purpose! This is the era of the “girl boss” and I am proudly embracing that term! This is the age of the Internet where everything is possible (except for when it isn’t). It is confusing and exciting! And hopeful, until you hit a road block.
But for the most part there is too much inspiration to even be inspired by it all.
I never give up on my dreams. My dreams may change according to the plan God has for my life, but I never give up on them.
But rainy days and Monday’s have a tendency to getcha down. I have days where I want to get to that goal so bad it hurts! So bad I can see it. But I just can’t touch it yet.
And boy, do those days getcha down.
The hope that you had when you were scouring every “#girlboss” inspiration blog you could find, has suddenly become angry, discouraged hopelessness.
I’m sure I’m just talking to myself right?
Nobody else has ever felt like this.

Being the first full week of 2016, I’ve been thinking about what my “goals” are for the year. And I have a whole blog post coming about that, but one of the main goals is to pursue my career. Even if that only means one step toward the end goal, just something in the right direction!

God never ceases to amaze me, and I can’t remind myself enough of how perfect his timing is!!! In Sunday school yesterday we shared our favorite Bible verses, and I shared mine (Jeremiah 29:11, above). Later, I found out that is one of the scriptures of the New Years fast we are doing at our church. After church, my mom and I were talking to a friend who’s daughter does a whole lot of things that are extremely similar to the things I want to do in the future! And she couldn’t stress enough that God knows my dreams, and He has it worked out in His perfect timing! Our conversation resonated with me through the rest of the afternoon.Of course when I think about my dreams I have a tendency to remember the road blocks I’ve hit. And as I thought about those pesky little things, I remembered what I was doing before the road blocks.
Learning.
Sometimes you need to learn something right now, that you will use in the future.

So you learn, learn, learn, until the “road block” comes up. That may be the only step you are supposed to take right now, but if you wait to take all the steps at once, you could miss the timing of your dreams.

Think of it as driving.
You leave your house to reach a destination. You drive until the light turns red or you get to a stop sign. You aren’t at your destination yet, but you have to stop or else it could be hazardous to your health. Then the light turns green and you go again until it turns red, and you repeat this until you get there. The speed limit changes, sometimes you go farther before you stop. And eventually you get to your destination right in time. But if you would have waited until it was time to get there, to leave your house; where would you be?
Late. Missing your dreams.
I hope this encourages you to stop looking at the road blocks as road blocks, and start looking at them as Red lights.

I’ll leave you will this bit of encouragement from the lovely, Joanna Gaines. Even she had a red light moment. And look where she is now! 🙂

The Gathering Testimony: Joanna Gaines from Antioch Community Church on Vimeo.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.
Jeremiah 29:11
Keep driving when the light turns green, and keep following your dreams.
-Sami
One thought on “You May Say I’m a Dreamer

Leave a Reply

