Resolutions – Let’s Talk about 2016

Lets talk about 2016

So If you haven’t read my last post, I talked about 2 opinions on making New Year’s resolutions, and why I think that you totally, completely, absolutely should.

But, todays post is all about my goals.

I’m going to tell you that if you don’t want to read this post, that’s fine.
I’m writing this for me. So that years from now, I can look back and see what I wanted to do, this year.
But if you enjoy this, Great!! πŸ™‚

So here we go, in no particular order.

Blog More – I would love for my blog to be a booming success, where I know that I am capable of posting interesting content, consistently 3 times a week, at least. But right now i’m just getting my toes wet.
Sub-GoalΒ – Publish 1 blog post a week, from January through March.

Pursue My Career – And I mean my big career. In other words, go after my dream. I’m not saying that by 2017 I will have my store, or be doing everything I dream of doing. But this is the year it starts.
Sub-Goal – One Step. I don’t know what it is, but I want to make one step in the right direction this year. Whether that be school, or some other opportunity. One step.

Share Jesus – We are called to go into all the World and share The Good News, and this year I won’t be traveling over seas to a missions field to share Jesus. But I want to share Jesus in my daily life.Β Even If it’s just sharing Him right here on this blog.
I don’t have a sub-goal for this one, because this is constant.
You can’t do enough of this, you never reach a goal. Until you stand before the throne of the King of Kings, and I want Him to say “Well done, good and faithful servant!”.

Pass the SAT + All college placement tests – Yay. I take the SAT in a few days, and let me tell you, I’m nervous. I’m an artist! Math and science and history and english are not my strong suits. But I have to do well on this test (and a couple more), to be able to go to college.
Sub-Goal – Study. Until i’m cross eyed….and then study some more.

Get a Job – I’m not a daydreamer with my head stuck up in the clouds that thinks if I wish hard enough, and click my heels together my dreams will come true. Sorry, Dorothy. I know I need money and lots of hard work to make these things happen. This year I’m looking for my first, real job.
I’m extremely thankful for the opportunities i’ve had in the past to paint and do what I love, and get paid to do it. And if that became a consistent thing, I would be happy. I’m also exploring some other creative options (sneak peak below), but I have applied for a 9-5 job at a couple places. #adulting

Print

Take More Pictures – This was on my list last year too. I love photography and I constantly wish I was better or wish I had better equipment, or knew how to edit photos better. The only way to get better is to do it, so i want to take my camera out more and just take pictures, to learn and to have fun!

Meet My Niece – This year I will have a sweet baby niece and I’m so excited!Β This obviously isn’t a resolution, but it’s something i’m looking forward to in 2016! #proudaunt

Get Fit – This is one of the most cliche resolutions ever, i know. Last year my goal was to lose 50 pounds. I am THRILLED to announce that I did just that. From January 2015 to January 2016, I lost 50 POUNDS. (more on that later), I am a lot healthier already, just from that. Now I want to take it to another level. I want to tone, I don’t want to be ripped. I just want to tone up and gain some strength.
Sub-goal – Aim for short workouts first, just get moving!!!

Find Happiness in the Little Things – I don’t say this one to make it sound like i’m depressed or unhappy at all, because I’m not! But I feel like sometimes we look for big thrills to make us happy and we rely on those things. And if nothing “big” happens, we get bored. I don’t want to be bored. I want to realize small things that make me happy! Like a cup of coffee in my favorite mug, or just settling down and watching an episode of my favorite show and not doing anything else. #instagramopportunities (don’t lie, you know we have all instagrammed our coffee cups before)
Don’t be so busy that you forget the little things, they actually make up the big things.

“Faithful in Prayer” –
“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” -Romans 12:12
This year i want to deepen my prayer life. I want to be more purposeful with prayer and make more time for it. I don’t want it to just be a last minute thought at the end of my day.

These are just some of my goals. I could go on and on about things that i want to do, but I’m just going to stop here. What are some of your goals for this year? Leave a comment and/or hand letter your goal and post it on instagram using the hashtag #ASCresolutions
Happy New Year once again! πŸ™‚

-Sami

Leave a Reply

