Scripture Sunday (Summer Camp Recap)

Identity.

That was the theme of our church district summer camp this year, discovering your identity in Christ. We are sons and daughters of the one true King. We are more than conquerors. We are heirs in the Kingdom of God. We are important. We are wanted. We are loved beyond measure.

Every ounce of our identity, is because of God’s identity. The song Good Good Father describes God and His perfection, and everything He is. He’s a good good Father, and we are loved by him. Do you see the connection? His identity is “good” (great, really!) and our identity is loved.

My favorite line in that songs is probably this one:

You are perfect in all of your ways perfect in all of your ways, You are perfect in all of your ways, to us.

His perfection resonates through our lives in ways that we aren’t even aware of. He sets things up to happen (the good and the bad) and every event links together and forms a beautiful story.

The past few weeks I’ve been battling with some things that were breaking me down, emotionally. I was exhausted and to the point where I would just break down and cry over the smallest things. Then it was time for camp and I’d taken time off from work and to be honest I was excited for camp but I couldn’t help but think about all of the things I could be doing at home during a week off. Camp is exhausting itself and I was walking into it tired, so I was a little worried.


I’ve gone to camp for 4 years now and this was my first year going as a youth leader/counselor, and it was the best week of camp I’ve ever been too. Our church was placed on a great team, who was excited to cheer and dance and work for spirit points and we had a fighting chance to win the whole thing.

We won first place in the flag competition because we had a skilled painter in our midst *cough cough* not talking about me or anything 😎😏


The teams were superheroes and we got the flash! (Which is convenient because that’s the only super hero I know! πŸ˜‚)

We also came in first place for the last days competition, which has never happened in the 3 other years that I’ve gone.

It was great, even though in the end we came in 3rd (out of 5 teams).

Our leaders with our awesome District Youth Director

The night services are always good! It’s amazing to see hundreds of kids with their hands lifted up, praising God and crying out to Him.


If they could hold on to this and take it home, we would see changes happen in our schools, and communities. Broken homes would be restored, people would be set free and salvation would take place! And that’s my prayer. That these kids would go home and get into their secret place and petition heaven for the salvation of their families, their friends, and their leadership.

The titles of the messages this week were:

  1. They Were Wrong: the negativity that people have spoken over you is so far from what GOD has spoken over you.
  2. Saving Private You: spending time in the secret place, with God
  3. The Kings Table: we are princes and princesses invited to sit at the Kings table and fellowship with our Heavenly Father.
  4. An Audience of One: when Mary broke the perfume open and poured it on Jesus’ head. They tried to stop her but Jesus wouldn’t let her because she was having an audience of one. She was with her King and she didn’t care who else was there, she had to do what was important.

The sermons were always great, but my favorite part is always the altar time. It’s where Teenagers get called into ministry. It’s where they get filled with the Holy Spirit, I know because it happened to me! It’s where burdens are broken and restoration takes place. Healing and Salvation and moments that they will never forget, all happen at an altar.

My first year of camp God healed me and filled me with the Holy Spirit. It was one of the best services I had ever participated in. Not because of any special speaker or the song that was playing, but because I was having an audience of one.

This week God gave me exactly what I needed, As he always does. He refreshed me. Nobody would ever expect to be a leader at a week long youth summer camp and come home refreshed. But I did. The last service I just stood there and weeped. The speaker told the leaders to go pray for the students, but I couldn’t. You have to be full before you can pour out and in that moment God was filling me up. I just stood there and cried (happy tears) and just enjoyed the presence of God. It was exactly what I needed. I’m not saying any of this to brag about me! And I’m not saying any of this couldn’t have happened at home!

There is just something special about Camp! Because everyone is there for one purpose, In the same mindset. It’s a break from the routine of church. And I love church and I love worship but sometimes we forget to go after him with everything, because we can get by with just raising our hands for one song.

I just want to encourage you to go into church with the mindset of going after God! And not just church, but in your house seek him and get in your secret place, wherever that may be and petition God for the situations in your life and the lives of those around you! Spend time with him! I’m talking to myself too!

Let’s get in our secret place and cry out to him! We are welcome at his table. We are welcome to have an audience with the King. Let’s accept the invitation. ❀️
-Sami
Mark 14:1-9

1 Now the Passover and the Festival of Unleavened Bread were only two days away, and the chief priests and the teachers of the law were scheming to arrest Jesus secretly and kill him. 2 β€œBut not during the festival,” they said, β€œor the people may riot.”

3 While he was in Bethany, reclining at the table in the home of Simon the Leper, a woman came with an alabaster jar of very expensive perfume, made of pure nard. She broke the jar and poured the perfume on his head.

4 Some of those present were saying indignantly to one another, β€œWhy this waste of perfume? 5 It could have been sold for more than a year’s wages and the money given to the poor.” And they rebuked her harshly.
6 β€œLeave her alone,” said Jesus. β€œWhy are you bothering her? She has done a beautiful thing to me. 7 The poor you will always have with you, and you can help them any time you want. But you will not always have me. 8 She did what she could. She poured perfume on my body beforehand to prepare for my burial. 9 Truly I tell you, wherever the gospel is preached throughout the world, what she has done will also be told, in memory of her.”

Leave a Reply

