Welcome to 2017 – Our Best Year Yet

welcome-to-2017

Ahhhhh.

Where to I begin? Last year I wrote a post called “Let’s Talk About 2016” basically just to get my ‘resolutions’ written down where I could look back on them through the years.

Let me tell you one reason i’ve realized that it’s so important to do that! I forgot.
I forgot 90% of the goals I wrote down last year! And if they hadn’t been written down I wouldn’t know how much I accomplished.

In preparing for 2017 i’ve heard that the best way to prepare is to evaluate what happened this year, and what worked best and go from there.
So let’s recap shall we?

*As I said last year, If you don’t want to read this that’s fine with me. ๐Ÿ™‚ This is just so I can look back next year and in years after that and see what I’ve accomplished.

years

 

Recap:

Blogging – obviously didn’t really get carried out through the whole year, butย I kept it up longer than I ever have before. So I count it as a small win.

My Career – This is the one I’m most excited to talk about! I think I’m going to save this for a separate blog post. Stay Tuned!

Jesus – I went on my first US missions trip this year and I also started volunteering with a group called Release Time Bible Education.ย In this program children sign up for a Sunday School type program where they go to a nearby church one day a week during a school release time and learn about Jesus. It’s so cool! And the relationships we are forming with these kids is so special!

SAT/College Placement Testsย – I passed the SAT with a little below average score but overall not that bad and iย didย pass so I’m happy about that.ย I still have 4 more tests to take, and I was hoping to get that done but this summer was CRAY-ZEE.

Job – This one happened. It was stressful and honestly it pretty much crashed and burned and scarred me for life. But it did teach me something:ย money is nice to have, but I would rather hustle as hard as I can at my art than work somewhere like that again. The job itself honestly wasn’t that bad! It was the atmosphere and some behind the scenes stuff that pushed me to quit.

Etsy – I started an Etsy shop,ย The Art Studio Shop. If we’re being honest here, I pretty much failed at it. Is that harsh? I generally did pretty much all the wrong things.
My artwork succeeded, just not through Etsy.

Photography – I have definitely increased my photography work this year. I’ve started working with my friend Philip and his company,ย Brightworx Media. Since this summer i’ve had the pleasure of shooting several different types of events and a couple weddings. The mark of a good artist is someone who is always learning a growing, and that is something i’m always striving to do, in all of the art forms i practice.

Get Fit – Y’all. Let me tell you. February 2016 I joined a gym with my best friend Poetically Peachy. Y’allย weย actually did it….kinda. We consistently went for months. So much so that her mom and a few other ladies joined us! I was gaining momentum and pushing myself. I actually started running and improving time and speed. Working out was and is something I now crave, which I never thought would happen. And someone referred to me as “fit”. What. Come again? And then… Remember how I told you summer was CRAY-ZEE? Yeah it threw so many wrenches in every area of my life! (only half joking) I haven’t been in far too long and have probably lost a good bit of the progress I had made and that sickens me. I can feel the difference too so now that we’re entering into the new year I can’t wait to go back!

That’s pretty much all of the resolutions i had last year. The other things that I mentioned were Prayer & Happiness which aren’t necessarily resolutions as much as ongoing challenges. It’s something you can’t really get wrong or right it’s just something you keep doing and you’ll have good days and bad days but you’ll keep doing them. ๐Ÿ™‚

My niece was another thing I was excited about. She is our little ray of sunshine! She is the most beautiful baby girl I’ve ever seen! She’s so smart already and I’m so proud of her!ย I’ve always dreamt of being best friends with her. I want to be someone that she wants to spend time with and is happy to see. Even though she’s still a baby, the look she gives me when I walk into the room and say “Hey Sunshine!” makes me think that we’re on the right track! I look forward to the many many years we get to spend together forming that friendship.

Over the month of January I’ll be sharing more about my goals for 2017!
Here’s the Schedule:
January 1st – Welcome to 2017
+Recapping 2016’s goals
January 8th – Business Goals Recap
+All that happened in my business in 2016
January 15th – Welcome to 2017 – Part II
+What I want to do personally in 2017
January 22nd – Business Goals for 2017
+What I want to accomplish in my business this year

Happy New Year friends!

-Sami,
The Art Studio Collective

Leave a Reply

